Woah! Media is emerging!

Hello All!

My name is Julie Mamie and I am a “first-time blogger” so I hope that you will bear with me as I find my way in the blogosphere! I have been citing references and writing for academics for so long now I am a little worried that I have forgotten how to communicate in any other way!

I am excited to get started, so lets begin!

So what exactly is emerging media? I hope that through this blog I will effectively be able to convey to you how I see media emerging.

Consumers and marketers are communicating in vastly different ways than they did 10 years ago. Social media alone has brought about new ways for brands to advertise and communicate with consumers. Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Yelp, FourSquare, Instagram, and Google+ are just a small sample of the many social media platforms that are available.

What about mobile? Just within the past few years we have encountered a large rise in the number of smartphone and electronic tablets that are used; this increase in mobile has singlehandedly changed the way we interact with brands, browse, shop and review products, receive news, and communicate with one another. The below infographic displays some smartphone statistics and facts that I thought might be relevant to share.

I think it is exciting to see how far communications and media have come. It is my hope that this blog will continue to discuss this importance of emerging media, how it influences us as marketers and as consumers in our daily lives.

More to come!

Leave a Reply

